NMAF elects 3 new members to its Board of Directors

The National Magazine Awards Foundation (NMAF) is pleased to announce the election of three new members to its board of directors for the 2014-2015 term. [ Français ]

Christopher Frey is the Editor-in-Chief of Hazlitt and Director of Digital Publishing at Random House Canada. He is also the Toronto correspondent for Monocle and is a multiple Gold Medal winner at the National Magazine Awards.
Terry Sellwood is the President of Cottage Life Media, a division of Blue Ant Media and publisher of Cottage Life, Canada’s Magazine of the Year. Previously he served on the board of the National Magazine Awards Foundation, including as President from 2001-2003.
Melony Ward is the Publisher of Canada’s History magazine and Kayak: Canada’s History for Kids. She serves on the magazine advisory committee for Ontario Media Development Corporation and previously served on the board of Magazines Canada.
The NMAF has also elected a new president for 2014-2015, Joyce Byrne, who succeeds Douglas Thomson. Ms. Byrne is the Publisher of Avenue magazine in Calgary. She has served on the NMAF board of directors since 2010 and as its Vice-President from 2012-2014. She is also a Silver Medal National Magazine Award winner. On being elected to the position, Ms. Byrne noted:

“I am delighted to be able to champion excellence in Canadian magazines, and to be the first president of the National Magazine Awards Foundation based in Western Canada. Though Canada has a vast geography, our magazines bring us together, and our creators help us see other lives through their eyes. The NMAF board is a dedicated and invested group of volunteers who, like me, value the role that singling out our best work can have on company culture, staff and freelancer career development, and even our bottom line. We have an exciting year ahead and our new directors bring fresh perspectives and great experience to our bench.”

The NMAF Board of Directors has elected the following executive for the 2014-2015 term:
PRESIDENT: Joyce Byrne

VICE-PRESIDENT: Terry Sellwood

SECRETARY: Brian Morgan
Brian Morgan is the Art Director of The Walrus. He has served on the NMAF board of directors since 2011.
Liana Bell is a Partner with the Clark Henning Group. She has served on the board of directors since 2011.
PAST PRESIDENT: Douglas Thomson
Douglas Thomson is the Editor of ROM Magazine. He has served on the NMAF board of directors since 2005 and as its President from 2012-2014.
The board of directors of the NMAF is comprised of leaders in the Canadian magazine industry dedicated to supporting the Foundation’s mission to recognize and promote excellence in the content and creation of Canadian print and digital publications through an annual program of awards and national publicity efforts.
For more information about the NMAF and its board of directors, please visit magazine-awards.com/about

Leave a Reply