Outstanding Achievement Award

Since it was first presented in 1990, the Foundation Award for Outstanding Achievement has been the NMAF’s most prestigious individual prize, honouring an individual’s innovation and creativity through contributions to the Canadian magazine industry. Applications for this distinguished award are open until March 2, 2022, and nearly any industry professional can be nominated!

Who is eligible?

The award is open, but not limited, to creators, editors, publishers, art directors, circulation experts, marketing/sales and promotion professionals, and production managers. It cannot be given posthumously.

How do I nominate someone?

  1. Write a cover letter including the candidate’s name, title, and a summary of their career achievements, including links to, or examples of, their work.
  2. Gather at least two (2) supporting letters from other individuals.
  3. Send all documents as PDFs to staff@magazine-awards.com.

Is there a fee to submit an application?

No, there is no fee associated with this NMA category.

Who has won the award in previous years?

The Foundation Award for Outstanding Achievement has been awarded to several critically acclaimed Canadian journalists, novelists and other industry professionals over the years. Recent winners include Don Gillmor, Linda Spalding and Joyce Byrne. For a full list of winners and to learn more about the award, please visit the Outstanding Achievement award page.

Nominations Announcement

The NMAF would also like to take this opportunity to thank those who entered the 45th National Magazine Awards! Nominations and winners will be announced in the spring.