Best New Creators

Best New Magazine Writer

This award goes to a writer whose early work in magazines  shows the highest degree of craft and promise.

The 2018 winner of the Best New Magazine Writer is Jessica Rose, for her piece “Lost and Found,” published in Toronto Life. The National Magazine Awards jury said of the story: “With the suspense and pacing of a great mystery, Rose unwinds her own search for family and belonging with an outstanding, unputdownable rookie effort.”


Honourable mentions went to:

Julian Brave NoiseCat (Canadian Geographic)
Justin Dallaire (United Church Observer)
Christopher Elliott (Outpost Magazine)
Hadiya Roderique (The Walrus)


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Previous Winners of Best New Magazine Writer
2017 – Jessica Rose – “Lost and Found,” (Toronto Life)
2016 – Amorina Kingdon – “The Questionable Science of Vancouver’s Port Expansion (Hakai Magazine)
2015 – Desmond Cole – “The Skin I’m In (Toronto Life)
2014 – Genna Buck – “Finding a Place” (Maisonneuve)
2013 – Catherine McIntyre – “Clusterf*ck” (THIS Magazine)
2012 – Sierra Skye Gemma – “The Wrong Way” (The New Quarterly)
2011 – Liam Casey, “Suicide Notes” (Ryerson Review of Journalism)
2010 – Matthieu Aikins, “Last Stand in Kandahar” (The Walrus)
2009 – Danielle Groen, “This is Your Brain on Love” (Chatelaine)
2008 – Kris Demeanor, “Get a Real Job” (unlimited)
2007 – Patrick White, “Red Rush” (The Walrus)
2006 – Jeremy Klaszus, “Big Oil on Trial” (AlbertaViews)
2005 – Larry Frolick, “The Wired Cabin”; “Danger Signs” (Outpost)
2004 – Sophie Lees (AlbertaViews)
2003 – Chantal Srivastava (L’actualité)
2002 – Jean-Francois Bégin (L’actualité)
2001 – Jonathan Trudel (L’actualité)
2000 – Matthew McKinnon

Previous Winners of Best New Visual Creator

2014 – Hudson Christie – “A Portrait of the Artist with Testicles in Hand” (Maisonneuve)
2011 – The Coveteur, “Gifts” (Report on Business)
2009 – Byron Eggenschwiler “Tales from Riverheights Terrace” (Swerve)

Previous Winners of Best Student Writer
2008 – Chris Watt, “Iraq’s Walking Dead“, Maisonneuve
2007 – Julia Belluz“I” (Ryerson Review of Journalism)
2006 – Buffy Cram, “Man Hands,” Prairie Fire
2005 – Leigh Doyle, “So Long” (Ryerson Review of Journalism)