Nominate an editor for PWAC’s Editor of the Year award

The Professional Writers Association of Canada (PWAC) is searching for nominations for the 2013 Editor of the Year Award. PWAC members can nominate any editor, regardless of membership, for this award. The deadline for nominations is Friday, March 22, 2013.

The Editor of the Year award brings national recognition and praise to outstanding editorial professionals who respond quickly and positively to our queries, help us shape our ideas and work, improve our writing, and smooth the process of publication, invoicing and payment.

Previous winners include Jennifer Reynolds (Canadian Family), Rebecca Caldwell (Cottage Life), Jennifer Walker (Best Health), Mitchell Brown (Canadian Interiors), and Michael Totzke (Canadian Retailer).

Two other PWAC Awards are accepting submissions until March 22:

Lawrence Jackson Outstanding Achievement Award: PWAC recognizes outstanding contributions and exemplary commitment and service to the association through its Special Achievement Award, named in memory of former PWAC President Lawrence Jackson. This award is only open to PWAC members in good standing.

PWAC Regional Volunteer Awards: Recognize the valuable contributions of members who volunteer for PWAC in their regions. Open to PWAC members in good standing.

More PWAC Awards info here.

PWAC Writing Awards submissions due Friday March 15

The annual program of awards hosted by the Professional Writers Association of Canada (PWAC) is now accepting submissions, with deadlines approaching this Friday for three of the writing awards:

  • Feature Writing (over 1200 words): Open to PWAC and non-PWAC members; includes a cash prize of $500
  • Short Articles (1200 words or fewer): Open to PWAC and non-PWAC members; includes a cash prize of $500
  • Barbara Novak Award for Humour/Personal Essay Writing: Open exclusively to PWAC members

Previous winners include National Magazine Award laureates Kaitlin Fontana, Jay Somerset, Omar Mouallem, Stephen Kimber, Jeremy Klaszus and more.

Other awards offered by PWAC have deadlines next Friday (March 22):

  • Lawrence Jackson Outstanding Achievement Award: Open exclusively to PWAC members
  • Regional Volunteer Awards: Open exclusively to PWAC members
  • Editor of the Year: PWAC members may nominate any editor regardless of their membership status

The winners will be announced at the annual PWAC conference in Toronto in June. More info at PWAC.

New portal available from PWAC

The Professional Writers Association of Canada (PWAC) has launched a new online portal to connect freelance writers and magazine editors across the country.

The site is being promoted to Canadian magazines and from now through the spring of 2013, the site is free. (After February 14, there will be an annual fee for magazines to join, based on circulation figures. Read more.) Writers who are members of PWAC will be listed on the site. (Join PWAC.)

On the site, editors can find writers for specific projects, writers can find editors who might be interested in their work, and organizations can post jobs for specific needs.

The portal also includes tips such as:

{Hat tip: Canadian Magazines}