Call for Entries

The National Media Awards Foundation is excited to announce we are now accepting submissions for the 45th annual National Magazine Awards! This year, there are 28 categories and nine additional cross-program categories Canadian content creators and magazines can submit their original work to, for the chance to be recognized by Canada’s most prestigious media awards organization. The 2022 NMAs will also feature two special awards: the Magazine Grand Prix and the Foundation Award for Outstanding Achievement.


The 28 NMA categories are divided into three distinct award groups: Writing & Visual Awards, Editorial Awards, and Grand Prix: Best Magazine Awards.

The nine additional cross-program awards are open to applicants of both the Digital Publishing Awards and National Magazine Awards: B2B, as well as applicants of the NMAs. For this cross-program initiative, all entries in each category will be evaluated by a single panel of judges, and one winner will be announced per each category below:

  • Best Editorial Newsletter
  • Best Podcast: Current Affairs
  • Best Podcast: Arts, Culture and Society
  • Best Online Video: Short
  • Best Online Video: Feature
  • Best Online Video: Mini-Doc
  • Best Arts & Culture Storytelling
  • Best Science & Technology Storytelling
  • Best Column

How to Submit

  1. Register online at 
  2. Review the Rules and Submission Requirements to ensure eligibility
  3. Review the submission Categories and complete the application(s)
  4. Pay the required entry fees 

In response to the challenges surrounding COVID-19, no hard copies are required for the 2022 NMAs and all entry materials are to be uploaded via the online submission portal.

Fees and Prizes

The fees for Writing & Visual Awards are $125 per entry, plus HST. The early bird fee is $110 per submission, plus HST. These awards include a cash prize of $1,000 for Gold winners, plus a certificate for both Silver and Gold winners.

For the Editorial Awards and Best Magazine Awards, the fee is $150 per entry plus HST, and the early bird fee is $110 per entry plus HST. Gold and Silver winners of the Editorial Awards, plus each winning magazine of the Best Magazine Awards, will receive a certificate and winner’s seal.

The special awards (Magazine Grand Prix and Foundation Award for Outstanding Achievement) have no entry fees and winners will receive a certificate and/or winner’s seal as well. 

Support for Freelancers and Small Magazines

Independent writers and creators are entitled to an exclusive promotion under the Freelancer Support Fund, which allows them to get two entries for the price of one. The promotion only applies to two entries in the Writing & Visual Award group. For more details on eligibility and how to access the promotion, click here.

Magazines whose annual revenue is $200,000 or less are also eligible to receive two entries for the price of one under the Small Magazine Rebate. Funds are limited and offered on a first come, first served basis, so be sure to apply early.


The NMA Early Bird Rate offer ends on January 14, 2022 and the final submission deadline is January 21, 2022 at midnight (ET). Note that the deadline for the Foundation Award for Outstanding Achievement is March 2, 2022, and entries submitted after this date must be emailed to

Digital Publishing Awards and National Magazine Awards: B2B

Don’t see an NMA category that fits your work? Try the Digital Publishing Awards, where Canadian digital publishers and creators are invited to submit their content to 24 different digital categories. If you’re looking to submit business-to-business content, be sure to check out the National Magazine Awards: B2B’s 18 unique categories.


We have answers. Connect with us by email at, or via direct message on Twitter.

Leave a Reply