NMA winners make shortlists for Alberta Literary Awards

wgaThe Writers Guild of Alberta (WGA) has announced the finalists in 9 categories for the 2012 Alberta Literary Awards. The winners will be announced on May 25 at the Alberta Book Awards gala in Edmonton.

In the categories for magazine writing, the finalists are:

James H. Gray Award for Short Nonfiction
• Marcello di Cintio – “A Hymn in Aramaic,” Alberta Views Magazine
• Shaun Hunter – “Skin Deep,” FreeFall Magazine
• Omar Mouallem – “The Lives of Others,” Alberta Venture

Howard O’Hagan Award for Short Story
• Kathleen Brown – “Marhawks in Winter,” Filling Station Magazine
• Lynn Coady – “Dogs in Clothes,” Canadian Notes & Queries
• Lee Kvern – “In Search of Lucinda,” Be a Better Writer

In the categories for book publishing, the nominees include former National Magazine Award winners and nominees Naomi K. Lewis, Will Ferguson, Marcello di Cintio and Andrew Nikiforuk.

In the two categories for unpublished writing, the finalists are:

Amber Bowerman Memorial Travel Writing Award
• Sydney Budgeon – “The Unfinished”
• Selestia Herrera – “Greek Gambles”
• Julia Seymour – “Professions of Love Across the Seine”

Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Award
• Nora Abercrombie – “Becoming Canadian”
• Myrl Coulter – “Current Crossings”
• Elizabeth Haynes – “Memoria, Justicia, Sin Olvido”

Check out all the nominees (pdf). Congrats to all the finalists and good luck!

Leave a Reply