Western Magazine Awards Call for Entries

Western Magazine AwardsThe Western Magazine Awards Foundation’s call for entries to the 2014 competition is now open. 

Early-bird entries must be received by noon on March 31st, 2014.  Final deadline is no later than noon on April 30th, 2014.  Finalists will be announced in July 2014 and winners will be announced at the Awards Gala on September 26th, 2014.  

See www.westernmagazineawards.ca to enter and for more details. 

Do you have what it takes to be Editor of the Year?


CSME’s Call for Entries: 2014 Editors’ Choice Awards


The Canadian Society of Magazine Editors (CSME) is looking for the best work of 2013 by Canadian magazine editors. The Editors’ Choice Awards, presented by CSME, honour and celebrate the high-quality work of editors within the Canadian magazine industry.


The submissions process for this year’s awards is now open to all CSME members. Enter your magazine by 4:30 p.m. PDT, Fri., March 14, 2014, to be considered by a judging panel of your peers.

Download the entry form here.
Download the official rules here.

Winners in each of the Small (under 50,000), Medium (50,000 to 149,999) and Large (150,000+) circulation categories, as well as the Trade magazine categories, each earn the right to use the Editors’ Choice Award logo on their cover for a year. There are also awards for Best Front of Book, the Jim Cormier Award for Display Writing, Best Website and, of course, the coveted Editor of the Year.

**This year CSME is introducing its first-ever Tablet Award, as well as an award for Best Art Integration.**

Entries are free with your 2014 CSME membership. Membership runs on a calendar year basis: If you were a member in 2013 and have not yet renewed, you need to do so before entering.

Winners will be announced at the Editors’ Gala event at MagNet in June.


Deadline for Outstanding Achievement Award Nominations

Deadline: March 1, 2014

The NMAF’s most prestigious individual prize since its inception in 1990 is The Foundation Award for Outstanding Achievement, an award that recognizes an individual’s innovation and creativity through contributions to the magazine industry.

The award is open to circulation experts, editors, marketing, sales and promotion professionals, publishers, creators, designers, production managers – in short, to everyone in the industry. It cannot be given posthumously. Nominations for this award are welcome from everyone in the industry. 

The nomination consists of a letter from the nominator indicating the candidate’s name, title and career achievements, with supporting letters from at least two (2) other individuals.

The Judging Committee of the National Magazine Awards Foundation will consider the nominations, along with nominations from members of the Committee itself. The Board of the National Magazine Awards Foundation will select the winner. No entry fee is required. Applicants not selected will be kept under consideration for two (2) additional years.

The deadline for nominations for the Foundation Award for Outstanding Achievement is March 1, 2014. There is no entry fee.

Send your nominations and support letters to staff@magazine-awards.com