Categories Announced for the 44th National Magazine Awards

The National Media Awards Foundation is pleased to announce the lineup of categories for the 2021 National Magazine Awards. Our program for 2021 features 29 categories, plus two special awards and seven additional categories that are part of a new, cross-programming initiative.

Writing & Visual Awards:

  1. Long-Form Feature Writing: 6000+
  2. Long-Form Feature Writing
  3. Feature Writing
  4. Short Feature Writing
  5. Columns
  6. Essays
  7. Investigative Reporting
  8. Fiction
  9. Personal Journalism
  10. Poetry
  11. Profiles
  12. Service Journalism
  13. Best Emerging Writer
  14. Illustration (incl. Spot & Photo Illustration)
  15. Portrait Photography
  16. Lifestyle Photography
  17. Photo Essay & Journalism
  18. One of a Kind Storytelling

Editorial Awards:

  1. Art Direction of a Single Article
  2. Best Editorial Package
  3. Art Direction Grand Prix
  4. Editor Grand Prix
  5. Cover Grand Prix
  6. Issue Grand Prix
  7. Publisher Grand Prix

Grand Prix: Best Magazine Awards

  1. Best Magazine: News, Business, General Interest
  2. Best Magazine: Service & Lifestyle
  3. Best Magazine: Art, Literary, Culture
  4. Best Magazine: Special Interest

Special Awards:

  • Magazine Grand Prix
  • Foundation Award for Outstanding Achievement

Additional Categories

New for 2021, we encourage NMA participants to submit their work to the following categories, which will compete among those submitted to the Digital Publishing Awards and National Magazine Awards: B2B programs. For this cross-programming initiative, all entries will be evaluated by a single panel of judges, and winners will be announced across all three programs. For more information, please see our rules.

  • Best Editorial Newsletter
  • Best Podcast: News and Politics
  • Best Podcast: Arts and Culture
  • Best Online Video: Short
  • Best Online Video: Feature
  • Best Online Video: Mini-Doc
  • Best Virtual Event

The NMAF will present the winners of the 44th National Magazine Awards in spring 2021. If you’re interested in submitting to the 2021 NMAs, please note that the call for entries opens on December 21, 2020 and closes on January 28, 2021. To save on fees, get your entries in by the early bird deadline of January 21, 2021.

We have also made a change to our submission requirements in response to the challenges surrounding COVID-19.

Our Freelancer Support Fund and Small Magazine Rebate will be available once again this year, ensuring that the National Magazine Awards recognize the best work from a broad range of Canadian creators and magazines.

Leave a Reply