Best Editorial Package: Nominees for the 40th Anniversary National Magazine Awards

What makes a great magazine editorial package? Is it the design of the book, the arrangement of the content, the multiplicity of entry points? Does it need data-leaning infographics, witty display writing, or an illustrated  how-to guide? How do you consider the overall quality of the written and visual pieces with the overall impact the story makes with readers.
These are just some of the questions the National Magazine Awards jury had to contend with as they pored over the impressive candidates for Best Editorial Package, an award generously sponsored by Rolland Enterprises, Inc, an environmentally responsible printing paper company. 
On April 20 we announced the nominees for the 40th anniversary National Magazine Awards, and we are excited to welcome Canada’s best writers, artists, editors, art directors, and more to the gala on May 26. [Tickets]

Here’s a close-up look at the nominees for Best Editorial Package.

Art in the End Times
Arc Poetry Magazine
Rhonda Douglas, editor
Serge Duguay, art director
Contributors: Ben Ladouceur, Katherine Leyton, Kevin Matthews, Chris Johnson, Meagan Black, Monty Reid

Canada’s Best New Restaurants 2016
Air Canada enRoute
Sarah Musgrave, editor
Stefanie Sosiak, art director
Lori Morgan, photo editor
Andrew Braithwaite, writer
Rush Jagoe, photographer

BESIDE Magazine / Magazine B-Side
Catherine Métayer, editor
Eliane Cadieux, art director
Jean-Daniel Petit, publisher & creative director

#95, The Games Issue
Canadian Notes & Queries
Emily Donaldson, editor
Seth, art director
Contributors: Emily Robert Earl Stewart, Stacey May Fowles, Grant Munroe

Tania Jiménez, directrice artistique
Audrey Lavoie, Véronique Leduc, Geneviève Vezina-Montplaisir, rédactrices en chef

Le Vivant / The Living
esse Arts + Opinions
Sylvette Babin, editor & art director
Contributors: Dominique Allard, Ariane De Blois, Justina Spencer

Swim or Sink
New Trail
Lisa Cook, editor
Marcey Andrews, art director
Karen Sherlock, managing editor
Amie Filkow, associate editor
Christie Hutchinson, associate editor
Sarah Pratt, staff writer
Cynthia Strawson, supervising editor
Mary Lou Reeleder, supervising editor
Stephanie Bailey, editorial assistant
Cynthia Strawson, supervising editor
Interns: Kate Black, Madisen Gee

The Top 1000 Guide to Investing
Report on Business
Dawn Calleja, Gary Salewicz, editors
Domenic Macri, art director
Contributors: David Berman, John Daly, Tim Kiladze, Ian McGugan, Tim Shufelt

Ryerson Review of Journalism
Kat Eschner, editor
Caren Watkins, art director
Viviane Fairbank, senior editor
Jonah Brunet, display editor
Staff writers: Eternity Martis, Davide Mastracci, Blair Mlotek, Erin Sylvester, Anda Zeng

Sara Horowitz, editor
Pamela Rounis, art director

The winner of the National Magazine Award for Best Editorial Package will be announced on May 26 at the 40th anniversary NMA Gala in Toronto.
Tickets are on sale now.
Check out all the nominees for the 40th anniversary National Magazine Awards.
Follow us on Twitter @MagAwards for all the nominations news and an awesome live feed on the night of the gala. #NMA40

Leave a Reply