Writers’ Trust Political Writing Prize Shortlist includes NMA Winners

The Writers’ Trust of Canada has announced the shortlist of finalists for the 2012 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing.

The shortlist includes work by these former National Magazine Award winners and finalists:

  • Marcello Di Cintio for Walls: Travels Along the Barricades
  • Taras Grescoe for Straphanger: Saving Our Cities and Ourselves from the Automobile
  • Noah Richler for What We Talk About When We Talk About War
  • Jeffrey Simpson for Chronic Condition: Why Canada’s Health-Care System Needs to be Dragged into the 21st Century

Peter F. Trent is also nominated for The Merger Delusion: How Swallowing Its Suburbs Made an Even Bigger Mess of Montreal.

Read more about all the finalists and the Writers’ Trust prizes.

The winner of the $25,000 prize will be announced on March 6.

Leave a Reply