Doug Wright Awards finalists include several NMA honourees

The finalists have been announced for this year’s Doug Wright Awards — celebrating the best in Canadian graphic novels and comics. Among the finalists in the three categories — Best Book, “Pigskin Peters” (aka best experimental comics), and “The Nipper” (aka best new talent) — are former National Magazine Award nominees Seth, Joe Ollman and Marc Bell.

(Visit the National Magazine Awards archive to find out more about the work of these illustrators.)

The awards, founded in 2005, are named for the late Canadian pioneer of cartooning Doug Wright.

The winners of this year’s awards will be revealed at the annual Doug Wright Awards ceremony, May 5 at the Art Gallery of Ontario.

Leave a Reply