Call for Entries

The National Media Awards Foundation is excited to announce we are now accepting submissions for the 47th annual National Magazine Awards! The 2024 National Magazine Awards feature 29 categories, with two special awards, and seven additional categories that are part of a cross-programming initiative with the Digital Publishing Awards.

Submissions are open to Canadian print and digital magazines and to Canadian citizens or Permanent Residents (landed immigrants) whose work has appeared in them during the 2023 calendar year.


  • Early Bird Deadline: January 12, 2024
  • Final Submission Deadline: January 19, 2024 at 11:59 p.m. EST

How to Submit

  1. Register online at https://submissions.mediafoundation.ca/login 
  2. Review the Rules and Submission Requirements to ensure eligibility
  3. Review the Categories and complete the submission form(s)
  4. Pay the required entry fees 

Small Magazine Rebate

The NMAF strives to ensure that the awards recognize the best work from a broad range of Canadian magazines and, to that end, is offering the SECOND ENTRY FREE to magazines whose annual revenue is $200,000 or less. If eligible, your magazine will receive two entries for the price of one. The rebate applies only to the first two entries.

Freelancer Support Fund

To ensure our awards are more accessible to everyone in the industry, we encourage independent writers, illustrators, photographers, and art directors to take advantage of our Freelancer Support Fund, which offers the following discount options on the submission fee:

  • Submit one entry for $90 (early bird rate $75)
  • Submit two entries for $125 (early bird rate $110) 

Digital Publishing Awards and National Magazine Awards: B2B

Don’t see a category that fits your work? Try the Digital Publishing Awards, where Canadian digital publishers and creators are invited to submit their content to 25 different digital categories. If you’re looking to submit content from trade, professional, or alumni association magazines, be sure to check out the National Magazine Awards: B2B’s 27 unique categories.

Last Call for Judges

We are still welcoming applications for judges for the 2024 National Magazine AwardsDigital Publishing Awards, and the National Magazine Awards: B2B.

Since 1977, the National Media Awards Foundation has promoted and honoured excellence in journalism, writing, and visual creation in the Canadian magazine industry. In 2023, almost 2,000 entries across all three of our awards programs were evaluated by a dedicated roster of more than 200 volunteer judges from all areas of the magazine and digital media industries.

We welcome applications from people who bring different perspectives to the judging process—from established industry leaders to celebrated emerging talents. We are also committed to addressing systemic racism and structural biases in Canadian media by ensuring that our judging panels are reflective of Canada’s diversity.

Judging will take place remotely, in February and March 2024. To volunteer as a judge, please fill out an application and someone on our team will get back to you. If you have any questions about how to apply or the rest of the judging process, please email us.