Border Crossings, Eighteen Bridges, subTerrain big winners at Western Magazine Awards

[This post has been updated] At last Friday night’s Western Magazine Awards gala in Vancouver, the Winnipeg-based arts and culture magazine Border Crossings was named Western Magazine of the Year, in a ceremony at the Renaissance Vancouver Hotel Harbourside, hosted by Jo-Ann Roberts.

Alberta Oil was named Trade Magazine of the Year, while Toque & Canoe won for Best Online Magazine. And Coast Mountain Culture took the prize for Best New Magazine.

Eighteen Bridges won the award for Best Alberta/NWT magazine, as well as two three individual awards, for Best Alberta/NWT Article, for Best Public Issues Article and for Best Culture & Entertainment Article, the latter for “The Populist” by Curtis Gillespie, which won Honourable Mention in Profiles at this year’s National Magazine Awards.

Vancouver indie literary mag subTerrain won the awards for Fiction and for Best Illustration. Up Here also won two awards, for Best Profile and for Best Travel & Leisure Article. Vancouver Magazine won for Best Art Direction of a Single Article and for Best Human Experience Article.

New Trail Winter 2012_Big Melt.pdfIn the Best Photograph category the winner was “The Changing Face of the North” by John Ulan in New Trail, which also won Honourable Mention in Creative Photography at this year’s National Magazine Awards.

[Update] The Gold Award for Best Saskatchewan Article went to Ayelet Tsabari for “Yemeni Soup and Other Recipes” in Grain, which also won a Silver Award in the One-of-a-Kind category at this year’s NMAs.

Best New Writer went to Melissa Molloy for “The Accuser and Us” in Profiles West. Ms. Molloy also won the award for Best New Writer at this year’s Alberta Magazine Awards.

Best Cover went to “Last Supper” from Avenue, art direction by Anders Knudsen, which also won the same award at the Alberta Magazine Awards.

Other winners include Alberta Views, BC Business, Focus, Grain, Impact, Swerve and Western Living. Visit for more information, or check out the Canadian Magazines blog for more coverage.

Paul and Audrey Grescoe were recognized as winners of the WMA Lifetime Achievement Award.

Related Post:
Western Magazine Awards announce finalists

NMA winners make shortlists for Alberta Literary Awards

wgaThe Writers Guild of Alberta (WGA) has announced the finalists in 9 categories for the 2012 Alberta Literary Awards. The winners will be announced on May 25 at the Alberta Book Awards gala in Edmonton.

In the categories for magazine writing, the finalists are:

James H. Gray Award for Short Nonfiction
• Marcello di Cintio – “A Hymn in Aramaic,” Alberta Views Magazine
• Shaun Hunter – “Skin Deep,” FreeFall Magazine
• Omar Mouallem – “The Lives of Others,” Alberta Venture

Howard O’Hagan Award for Short Story
• Kathleen Brown – “Marhawks in Winter,” Filling Station Magazine
• Lynn Coady – “Dogs in Clothes,” Canadian Notes & Queries
• Lee Kvern – “In Search of Lucinda,” Be a Better Writer

In the categories for book publishing, the nominees include former National Magazine Award winners and nominees Naomi K. Lewis, Will Ferguson, Marcello di Cintio and Andrew Nikiforuk.

In the two categories for unpublished writing, the finalists are:

Amber Bowerman Memorial Travel Writing Award
• Sydney Budgeon – “The Unfinished”
• Selestia Herrera – “Greek Gambles”
• Julia Seymour – “Professions of Love Across the Seine”

Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Award
• Nora Abercrombie – “Becoming Canadian”
• Myrl Coulter – “Current Crossings”
• Elizabeth Haynes – “Memoria, Justicia, Sin Olvido”

Check out all the nominees (pdf). Congrats to all the finalists and good luck!

Eighteen Bridges, Swerve, Alberta Oil big winners at Alberta Magazine Awards

Eighteen Bridges and Swerve each took home three gold awards at the 2013 Alberta Magazine Awards in Calgary last night. Alberta Oil swept the gold awards in Illustration and Photography. Alberta Views, Avenue, Western Living, Uppercase, Galleries West and Profiles West were also Gold-winning magazines.

The award for Best Cover went to Avenue (Calgary) magazine’s annual food issue, “Their Last Supper,” featuring 12 of the city’s top chefs (and one critic) in an apostolic scene:

Alberta Venture editor Mike Ganley was recognized as Editor of the Year, and Elaine Kupser of Impact won the Achievement Award for Publishing.

Melissa Molloy won the Amber Webb-Bowerman Memorial Foundation Award for Emerging Writer, for her work in Profiles West.

Other gold award winners at the 2013 Alberta Magazine Awards:

Check out @AlbertaMags on Twitter to recap all the gold and silver winners and news from the awards. Full details coming soon on the Alberta Magazines website.

Best Cover finalists for the Alberta Magazine Awards

With the 2013 Alberta Magazine Awards ceremony coming up on the calendar on March 14 (part of the Alberta Magazines Conference of March 14-15 in Calgary), we’re looking forward to seeing who will take the top honours this year.

Among the 14 Showcase categories to be presented at the gala is the always intriguing competition for Best Magazine Cover. Here’s a look at the 8 finalists this year for the top Alberta magazine cover:

Ryan Girard, art director; Marco Cibola, illustrator
Ryan Girard and Kim Larson, art directors; John Gaucher, photographer
Kim Larson, art director; Gary Stevensen, illustrator
Anders Knudsen and Erin Burns, art directors; Jared Sych, photographer; Alicja Wilkosz, hair and makeup; Julie Van Rosendaal, food stylist
Marcey Andrews, art director; Raymond Biesinger, illustrator
Cathy Ozubko, creative lead; Joel Kadziolka, designer; Deborah Jaremko, editor
Vishu Mahajan, art director; Joey Podlubny, photographer
Danae Thompson, art director; Josh Holinaty, illustrator

Check out all the finalists here. The winner of Best Cover and all the other Alberta Magazine Awards will be announced on March 14.

Alberta Magazine Awards finalists announced

The finalists for the 2013 Alberta Magazine Awards have been announced by the Alberta Magazine Publishers Association, with awards to be presented in 14 Showcase categories on March 14.

Swerve–the “Calgary inside & out” magazine–leads all publications with 17 nominations.

Also receiving an impressive haul of nominations are Alberta Venture (11), Alberta Oil (10), Eighteen Bridges (10), Alberta Views (6) and Avenue Calgary (6).

Alberta Venture editor Mike Ganley has been named the Editor of the Year, while Elaine Kupser of IMPACT Magazine is the recipient of the award for Achievement in Publishing.

The Amber Webb-Bowerman Memorial Foundation Award for Emerging Writer has 4 finalists:

Check out all the nominees. Tickets for the Alberta Magazine Awards gala are on sale until March 7. More info at

Related post: January 10 deadline approaches for Alberta Magazine Awards