New Ryerson Review of Journalism to launch on April 4

Come one, come all to the launch party of the Summer 2013 issue of the award-winning Ryerson Review of Journalism, next Thursday April 4 at The Corner Place (11 Jarvis Street) in Toronto.

The annual publication (as of next year, the RRJ will drop from publishing 2 issues per year to 1) produced by the undergraduate and graduate students of Ryerson University’s School of Journalism, is celebrating its 30th anniversary–be warned (nay, be excited): the event will feature the music of 1983.

Over the past 30 years the RRJ has been nominated for 28 National Magazine Awards, capturing 3 awards for Best New Magazine Writer (formerly Best Student Writer) and also awards for Politics and for Profiles. In 1993 it was named Honourable Mention for Magazine of the Year.

Related posts:
Ryerson Review of Journalism launches Summer 2012 issue
Meet the NMA Finalists for Best New Magazine Writer

No Quebec Magazine Awards this year

header7104The Quebec magazine association–l’Association québecoise des éditeurs de magazines (AQEM)–has announced that it will not be hosting the Quebec Magazine Awards (aka Grands Prix du magazine) this year.

An announcement on the association’s website noted that its board of directors is focusing its efforts on urgent advocacy issues. It stated that the awards will return in 2014 and be open to work published either in 2012 or in 2013:

Votre association concentre toutes ses énergies à défendre vos intérêts dans le dossier du recyclage du papier et des tarifs exorbitants auxquels nous faisons face. Le Conseil d’administration a donc décidé que Les Grands Prix du magazine 2013 de l’Association québecoise des éditeurs de magazines (AQEM) ne seront pas décernés cette année mais seulement au printemps 2014. La compétition portera alors sur les éditions de 2012 et 2013.

The annual Grands Prix du magazine have been held each year since 1991. Last year’s winners included Les Débrouillards and L’actualité, which shared the award for Quebec Magazine of the Year. Other winners were JobboomQuébec Science, Protégez-Vous, Châtelaine, Elle Québec, 7 jours and Clin d’œil.

Related post: 2012 Quebec Magazine Award winners announced

Quebec Writing Competition open for entries

Quebec Writing Competition Submission ManagerThe annual Quebec Writing Competition, supported by Maisonneuve and CBC Canada Writes, is accepting submissions for its 2013 awards. Entries may be fiction or non-fiction, previously unpublished, with a maximum of 1200 words. Participation is limited to residents of Quebec. The submission deadline is May 1.

The first-prize winner will receive a cash prize of $1500, have their work published in Maisonneuve and broadcast on CBC Radio’s Cinq à Six; the second-prize winner will receive $1000, have their work published on Maisonneuve‘s website and broadcast on CBC.

There will also be one Readers’s Choice winner who will receive $300 and a broadcast of their work. All three winners will be published in a CBC Canada Writes anthology.

The winners will be announced at the QWF Literary Awards Gala in November, 2013.

Deadline March 28 for Women’s Health Reporting Award

The SOGC/CFWH Journalism Awards for Excellence in Women’s Health Reporting recognizes outstanding reporting on women’s health issues appearing Canadian media.

The Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada (SOGC) and the Canadian Foundation for Women’s Health (CFWH) are the cosponsors of the awards, which are are open to print (including consumer magazines, newspapers and online news sites) and broadcast media published during 2012.

Winners in each media category receive a $1000 cash prize and will be honoured at the annual conference of SOGC in June. There will also be three Honourable Mentions per category.

Submissions are due by March 28, 2013. General criteria and applications forms are available here.

One of last year’s recipients was National Magazine Award winner Alison Motluk.

Nominate an editor for PWAC’s Editor of the Year award

The Professional Writers Association of Canada (PWAC) is searching for nominations for the 2013 Editor of the Year Award. PWAC members can nominate any editor, regardless of membership, for this award. The deadline for nominations is Friday, March 22, 2013.

The Editor of the Year award brings national recognition and praise to outstanding editorial professionals who respond quickly and positively to our queries, help us shape our ideas and work, improve our writing, and smooth the process of publication, invoicing and payment.

Previous winners include Jennifer Reynolds (Canadian Family), Rebecca Caldwell (Cottage Life), Jennifer Walker (Best Health), Mitchell Brown (Canadian Interiors), and Michael Totzke (Canadian Retailer).

Two other PWAC Awards are accepting submissions until March 22:

Lawrence Jackson Outstanding Achievement Award: PWAC recognizes outstanding contributions and exemplary commitment and service to the association through its Special Achievement Award, named in memory of former PWAC President Lawrence Jackson. This award is only open to PWAC members in good standing.

PWAC Regional Volunteer Awards: Recognize the valuable contributions of members who volunteer for PWAC in their regions. Open to PWAC members in good standing.

More PWAC Awards info here.